New project partner

Today we would like to present you the partner of our project – Committee for the Preservation of Jewish Heritage in Tarnów. The aim of the Committe is taking care of monuments of Jewish culture on territory of former Galicia Region and dissemination of knowledge on history and culture of Polish Jews. The Committee also aims at Polish-Jewish dialouge.

We encourage you to watch the short movie in which the chairman of the Committee – Adam Bartosz tells the story of Jewish cemetery in Tarnów.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlUUrarSOt8

We also present you a short guidebook in English which was prepared by A. Bartosz and J. Kozioł.
http://www.muzeum.tarnow.pl/multimedia/Cm_zyd_ang.pdf

The book “Jewish Cemetery in Tarnów” by dr hab. Leszek Hońdo

We recommend you a publication by prof. Leszek Hońdo. He will be also responsible for supervising the inventory in the framework of our project and will be an editor of final publication.

Prof. Leszek Hońdo – since 2000 in charge of Chair in Jewish Culture at the Institute for Jewish Studies at Jagiellonian University. In 1993 he defended his doctoral thesis on religion in Franz Rosenzweig work’s and in 2000 he was granted habilitation based on book on old Jewish cemetery in Kraków. Since 1996 he is a Secretary of Commission of History and Culture of Jews at the Polish Academy of Art and Science. In years 1996-1998 he was a Board Member in Polish Association of Jewish Studies. He is a chairman of the Committee for Protection of Jewish Heritage located at the Society of Fans of History and Monuments of Kraków. He is interested in culture of Polish Jews, Jewish cemeteries in Poland, beginnings of Zionism and Jewish thought in the German circles. He is author of many publications and member of many editorial boards, one of which is „Scripta Judaica Cracoviensia”.

In memoriam, August 12, 1942 – August 12, 2016

In this year has passed 74th an anniversary of the Holocaust in Kołaczyce and Brzostek . 260 Jews : women, old men and children were gathered for a week on Błonia in Kołaczyce, than loaded on trucks and transported to the forest in Krajowice. There, nacked, terrified and defenceless were shoot one by one, children on mothers hands. Everyone was murdered and buried in one massive grave, here in Krajowice forest near Kołaczyce.

Commemoration of this Holocaust was an opportunity to remain once again these terrible murder. AntiSchemes2 also came to Krajowice to commemorate this tragic anniversary with friends from Kołaczyce, Dukla, Rzeszów, Jasło and Nowy Żmigród. We placed flowers, lighted candles and strongly emphasized that commemorations of the Holocaust are necessary to built tolerance, memory and respect for others life and culture.

Fot. Inga Marczyńska